Malarkey
mə-'l�r-kẹ n. [origin unknown]: insincere or foolish talk

Post without a Name

June 20, 2005
I know that I have promised to use this site to whore out my own fiction, yadda, yadda. Today, I'm peddling something far more important than fiction. I know you've seen Sally Struthers eating Cheetos on television and asking you to "Save the Children." I'm not Sally Struthers, but I am asking you to get off of your butt and sacrifice a few dollars of your lower-middle-upper-class income so that kids in Peru can have a shot at an education. Instead of buying a beer or seeing that Pitt-Jolie movie (come on already, we know you guys are an item), do something with your spare cash that will make a difference. The Peru gods of education and school uniforms will bless you for this, I swear.

My good friend Mandy is volunteering in Peru. She was held at gunpoint with another volunteer and three little girls last week--the bad guys took the organization's only two computers and a cell phone. Their art supply drawer is pathetic. You can (and should) read about it here. If that doesn't work, go directly to http://packsawallop.diaryland.com.

10:50 a.m. :: comment ::
prev :: next